5 Real, Romantic Christmas Stories

6 Dec
Last Christmas my husband proposed to me in New York. He has some friends who live up there so we were staying with them and a lot of our other friends were there too. He put a tiny Christmas box as a ornament on the tree with a tag adressed to me. He pretended that he had never seen and said that it was addressed to me. He gave it to me and when I looked up he was standing there and he asked me to marry him. Of course I said yes but he took a step further and went out on the balcony shouting “She said yes!!” and “We’re getting married!”
************************************
As a college student, I was teaching a Sunday school class of third graders. One of the eight-year-olds, Kirsten, regularly had prayer requests regarding her awful, mean, grouchy big sister. We regularly prayed that her sister would be nicer. Meanwhile, a number of people kept suggesting that I date Kirsten’s sister. Well, I’d heard enough to know to steer clear! At Christmas, Willa – Kirsten’s sister – approached me at church and handed me a Christmas card. I mumbled something noncommittal. About a year later, a friend I worked with was pitching to me how I should take her out. I told him I’d heard about her from her little sister. He laughed  and told me that Kirsten had three sisters and Willa was definitely not the mean one. So – a year late – I told Willa,’Thanks for the Christmas card.’ She retorted: ‘Well, don’t expect another one!’ We’ve now been married 28 years.
************************************
This is how I was proposed to to… He took me to the park on Christmas night and gave me a huge box. I opened the first box and inside there were packing peanuts and another box. I opened the next box and inside was the same. I opened the next, same thing. I opened the last box and inside was a small teddy bear that sang Silent Night. I didn’t notice the ring box that was attached to him until a minute later. It had the words “marry me?” on the back of its fake sheet of music. It was so sweet and I was totally surprised!
************************************
I had my first date on Christmas Eve!🙂 It was so sweet and special!
He came over during the week to give my Christmas present, and it was an invitation to my favourite restaurant! And then, since my birthday is on Christmas Day, he said he had a birthday present for me too. I asked what it was and he said he was taking me to the restaurant! Which was very sweet, as I’ve been looking forward to our first date for ages!
Well during the meal, flowers were delivered to the restaurant for me and he gave me the most beautiful necklace! I was so overwhelmed! It was lovely!🙂
************************************
I live in Michigan and my fiance lives in New York. My children, 19 and 16, and I went to spend Christmas with him. Leon works at Shubert Theater in NYC and he bought us tickets to see the show playing there, Spamalot, for Christmas Eve. He told us that he had to do some work during the show and wouldn’t be joining us in the audience. During intermission Leon came to my seat and told me that one of the security guards would come get us after the show so we could go backstage and meet the cast. When the curtain went down, the security guard showed up and took us backstage. He told us to go up the steps (on the stage) and as we walked up, I saw most of the cast milling about, but mostly looking at us. I have to say I felt a little weird, and I looked around for my boyfriend, and there he was. . . dressed like one of King Arthur’s Knights. He was standing there smiling at me, and I looked back at the security guard and said, “I’m not going out there.” I thought the curtain was going to go up and he was going to start singing and have me part of some wacky sideshow! Instead the guard nudged me and told me to get out there. I did, and Leon recited the most beautiful poem, he wrote it himself. I was in a semi-shocked-stage-fright-kind of stupor. I heard the poem, but didn’t REALLY hear it. I did grasp those magic words; “Will you be my wife,For all of our life. Please say yes, I pray for nothing less.” And of course I said yes!! My Knight in Shining Armor, isn’t that what every girl dreams of?

Leave a Reply

