13 Romantic Shakespeare Quotes

5 Apr

Love sought is good, but given unsought is better.

From Twelfth Night

I love thee, I love but thee; with a love that shall not die; till the sun grows cold and the stars grow old.

Doubt thou the stars are fire;
Doubt that the sun doth move;
Doubt truth to be a liar;
But never doubt I love

From Hamlet

My bounty is as boundless as the sea, my love as deep; the more I give to thee, the more I have, for both are infinite.

Did my heart love ’til now? Foreswear its sight–for I never saw true beauty ’til this night

I pray thee, chide not; she whom I love now
Doth grace for grace and love for love allow;
The other did not so.

For thy sweet love remember’d such wealth brings,
That then I scorn to change my state with kings.

Now join your hands, and with your hands your hearts.

No sooner met but they looked;
No sooner looked but they loved;
No sooner loved but they sighed;
No sooner signed but they asked one another the reason;
No sooner knew the reason but they sought the remedy;
And in these degrees have they made a pair of stairs to marriage…

For where thou art, there is the world itself, and where though art not, desolation.


One half of me is yours, the other half yours-
Mine own, I would say; but if mine, then yours,
And so all yours!

When I saw you I fell in love, and you smiled because you knew.

Good night, good night! parting is such sweet sorrow,
That I shall say good night till it be morrow.

From Romeo and Juliet

Leave a Reply

