Day 12 of 14 Days of Valentines

12 Feb

Date of the Day: Go bowling. It’s cheesy, it’s fun, and you’ll both love it!

Gift of the Day: Little Debbie heart-shaped Valentine’s Day cakes. (They’re really good when frozen.)

Quote of the Day:

Anyone can catch your eye, but it takes someone special to catch your heart.

Photo of the Day:

Tip of the Day: Have a tickle fight. It’s fun on the floor, couch, or bed. Laugh yourselves silly.

Video of the Day:

Love letter of the Day:

May 12, 1869

Out of the depths of my happy heart wells a great tide of love and prayer for this priceless treasure that is confided to my life-long keeping.

 

You cannot see its intangible waves as they flow towards you, darling, but in these lines you will hear, as it were, the distant beating of the surf.

Mark Twain (Samuel Langhorne Clemens) to Olivia Langdon, his future wife.

Poem of the Day:

I loved you
I loved you; and perhaps I love you still,

The flame, perhaps, is not extinguished; yet

It burns so quietly within my soul,

No longer should you feel distressed by it.

Silently and hopelessly I loved you,

At times too jealous and at times too shy.

God grant you find another who will love you

As tenderly and truthfully as I.

Alexander Pushkin

Valentine’s Day Story:

In college, we were having a fall festival and they were “auctioning off” the single guys.  I thought, “Why not?” and bought Ron for the day.  We had a great time and I thought something was there.  For the next couple of months anyway, we would say hi and go on our way.  I was disappointed.  Then on January 14, I was standing outside my dorm, and he came by and asked me to dinner.  We had a wonderfully nervous time.  He didn’t even hold my hand the entire night!  The next day he kissed me a peck on the cheek (you see, he was very shy).  We hung out together and studied, then on Valentine’s Day (1974) we were walking and he stopped me, kissed me, and told me that he loved me for the first time.  I was already sure I was in love with him.  Four days later, he proposed to me and we’ve been together ever since.  We married June 14, 1975 and are coming up on our 30th anniversary.  He never ceases to surprise me and we’ve kept a lot of humor in our marriage, along with God.

Kim Brown, Bradenton, Fla.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

