Day 9 of 14 Days of Valentines

9 Feb

Date of the Day: Make a bonfire outside and warm yourselves with it underneath the softly falling snow.

Gift of the Day: A photo of the two of you together in a beautiful, personal picture frame.

Quote of the Day:

Everything is clearer when you’re in love.

John Lennon

Photo of the Day:

Tip of the Day: Hug your partner from behind next time they are brushing their teeth.

Video of the Day:

Love letter of the Day:

To Adele Foucher

My dearest,
When two souls, which have sought each other for,
however long in the throng, have finally found each other …a union, fiery and pure as they themselves are… begins on earth and continues forever in heaven.

This union is love, true love, … a religion, which deifies the loved one, whose life comes from devotion and passion, and for which the greatest sacrifices are the sweetest delights.

This is the love which you inspire in me… Your soul is made to love with the purity and passion of angels; but perhaps it can only love another angel, in which case I must tremble with apprehension.

Yours forever,
Victor Hugo (1821)

Poem of the Day:

Wondrous Moment

The wondrous moment of our meeting . . .
I well remember you appear
Before me like a vision fleeting,
A beauty’s angel pure and clear.

In hopeless ennui surrounding
The worldly bustle, to my ear
For long your tender voice kept sounding,
For long in dreams came features dear.

Time passed. Unruly storms confounded
Old dreams, and I from year to year
Forgot how tender you had sounded,
Your heavenly features once so dear.

My backwoods days dragged slow and quiet-
Dull fence around, dark vault above-
Devoid of God and uninspired,
Devoid of tears, of fire, of love.

Sleep from my soul began retreating,
And here you once again appear
Before me like a vision fleeting,
A beauty’s angel pure and clear.

In ecstasy the heart is beating,
Old joys for it anew revive;
Inspired and God-filled, it is greeting
The fire, and tears, and love alive.

Alexander Pushkin

Valentine’s Day Story:

In 1957 I was a young Marine stationed at El Toro MCAS in Southern California. I had grown up in Burbank and would go home on weekends. I was head over heels in love with the most beautiful girl in the San Fernando Valley. However duty called and I was sent overseas. Due to difference in our religions, out mothers opposed our romance. Sadly we lost contact. I never forgot lovely Winona. 47 years later thanks to the internet Winona found me again. She showed me a picture of me she had kept all these years. On the back she had written “This is the man I should have married.” Now this Valentine’s Day we will celebrate our first anniversary. That lovely Valley Girl is my wife at last.

Paul Anton, Tacoma, Wash.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

